• The

    New York State

    Teaching Standards

    September 12, 2011


    Standard  I:  Knowledge of Students and Student Learning


    Teachers acquire knowledge of each student, and demonstrate knowledge of student development and learning to promote achievement for all students.


    Standard II:  Knowledge of Content and Instructional Planning


    Teachers know the content they are responsible for teaching, and plan instruction that ensures growth and achievement for all students.


    Standard III:  Instructional Practice


    Teachers implement instruction that engages and challenges all students to meet or exceed the learning standards.


    Standard IV:  Learning Environment


    Teachers work with all students to create a dynamic learning environment that supports achievement and growth.


    Standard V:  Assessment for Student Learning


    Teachers use multiple measures to assess and document student growth, evaluate instructional effectiveness, and modify instruction.


    Standard VI:  Professional Responsibilities and Collaboration


    Teachers demonstrate professional responsibility and engage relevant stakeholders to maximize student growth, development, and learning.


    Standard VII:  Professional Growth


    Teachers set informed goals and strive for continuous professional growth.